Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Imago, Cyril

A Caddis Fly (species to be identified later)

I was up at a local loch today and there had obviously been a recent hatching as these flies were everywhere.

Caddis flies are probably best known in their larval stage where they are (in the most part) aquatic and build themselves a protective case of either pondweed, pebbles, detritus etc. The case can often be diagnostic for IDing them. I have never tried IDing an adult before so that is why I have not named it yet though I think 'Cyril' sounds good as a 'working title.

I think this was the best of what I managed to capture. The contre-jour sunlight reveals the abdomen, though at the expense of burning out the highlights. I am not into brining captured insects home to photograph under studio conditions so this will have to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.