wooly

It's finally fall here. Down in the 40s-50s this weekend--I seriously cannot remember the last time that happened. March, maybe?

Snapped this right before our Sunday night grocery store run. Saw this older special needs kid have a very loud and violent meltdown over a broken bottle of vinegar (not sure if he caused or if that's what triggered his outburst--we got there just after the bottle had broken). He started biting and pulling his mom's hair (she had him up in the cart). I felt so bad for her. She was being extremely calm about it and trying to calm down her son but everyone was staring and even some of the employees were making snide comments. The noise of it all was incredible, his shrill yells echoing throughout the cavernousness of the store. You just don't know what to do in situations like this. I wanted to help but that wouldn't have been appropriate (but he seriously looked as if he was about to overpower her and fall out of the cart and bust his head open on the floor). I wanted to take a picture but that would have been even more inappropriate. We just tried to get what we needed and move on. But it makes you think about so much. Someday we hope to have kids and you can't help but ponder possible futures.

Leah and I ended up getting some nice things for dinner. We made freshly battered cod tacos with beans, fresh cilantro and garlic. Some corn and salad. Alaska Winter Ale (with spruce tips) and some wine. It is always so lovely when we can cook a homemade meal together. We had our door open, letting in the cool night, sipped our drinks, listened to Bonobo on Pandora.

Busy week ahead. Nervous about my classroom getting observed on Tuesday. Meeting with some students who are not doing so well later on too--this always makes you question your teaching, your explanations. I am confident about my transparency methods, though. Meaning, we always chat as a class at the beginning for several minutes about how everyone is feeling, in their lives, in their other classes, in my class. I want them to be able to see through me. I want everyone to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.