Harvest home

I've gone for the curiosity shot rather an another Tuscan classic here. This is a load of Christmas trees being readied for the market and the Casentino's Christmas Tree festival.

I don't know when this little cash crop started but it seems to be done on a small scale in quite tiny fields. Most of the trees are cut but I did see a gang of blokes working in pretty atrocious weather potting up some 'live' trees.

More clearing of the atrociously overgrown terraces today. Brambles way above my head.

I'm hoping to find where the boar are getting in tomorrow but I suspect that is a bit of moveable feast; they are notoriously difficult to keep out without heavy duty fencing bottomed by reinforcing mesh buried into the ground. As more and more land is abandoned they become a bigger and bigger problem to those who are still farming the tough soils and hills of Tuscany.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.