The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Bonfire of the Anxieties

Gabriella is a bit sad this evening. Bonnie and I rarely travel without our girls but I have convinced Bonnie to tag along to my business trip to Italy and extend it into a small holiday. I have meetings in Milan during the first part of the week but, after those have concluded, we will travel north to Lago di Como, a favorite place for both of us.

It is a short trip, lasting only five days. But when you are eight years old and both of your parents rarely travel without you, the apprehension of five days seems like an eternity. So, I decided to light a bonfire and roast marshmallows for her to ease her concerns. However, as I watched her warming her hands in the crackling light, I realized that her separation anxiety is actually a well-travelled two way street.

We will be in the air most of tomorrow and I am finally feeling like a human again so I hope to catch a moment or two on line.

Have a great week.



P.S. Not the most crisp image bit I am in love with the subject....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.