Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Icy Bike Ride

My partner is working this morning, so I have some Sunday chores to do. The washing machine loaded, I leave a note for twin 1 to put his bed sheet in and turn it on. I am hopeful it will be finished by the time I get home.

As there is a slight westerly, I do a clockwise route through Auchendinny, Leadburn, Romannobridge, West Linton, then back over the moor road to Penicuik.

The hill heading south is a bit of a grind. I am recovering from a cold. At least the climb keeps me warm, even though the temperature drops as I head south and upward. the temperature is just about 1degC at Leadburn.

On the Moffat road, the temperature drops again, and at Lamancha, it drops just below 0. My ears start to nip a little. At Whitmuir, the road starts to descend, and the temperature drops again. There is more ice on the roadside puddles, and some on the road. The coldest part of the ride os at Romannobridge, -0.7degC.

On to the Bogsbank road, there is planty of frost on the road, so I take it easy, until the road climbs up in to the weak sunshine. At the top, the temperature has risen to -0.3degC, and there it stays as I cycle through West Linton.

As I turn on to the moor road, I climb, and the temperature does too. On the 'everest climb', my side has frost, but on the other side there is quite a bit of ice. Not nice if you are descending. The moor road itself is remarkably ice free and above 0, just. The sheep are grazing.

At the north end of the moor road, i stop to get my blip, while the blue sky is still there. As I do so, a very nervous cyclist comes to a stop on the frosty road. Not looking very happy she asks about the road ahead/I say the moor road is fine, but the descent in to West Linton is very icy. They turn around, and I take my blip, looking towards Ravensneuk Farm. The Extra is taken from the same spot, but looking towards the Pentlands.

From here I head home. As I head through Penicuik and home, the temperature rises above 0. By the time I get home, it is a balmy 2.7degC.

The washing has finished, so twin 1 did his job. I can put the tumble dryer on. I have a shower to warm up, then have lunch.

After lunch, I go meet my partner at Cameron Toll for coffee and a bit of shopping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.