But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

In a Field Near Pathhead.

Having a meeting on my cycling day, I bumbled around by myself, covering some of the route take by my partners in crime. I hung around by the Musselburgh Lagoons for some time. Only having the IR camera resulted in some odd colours in the extra of the three wise cormorants. I think the middle one may be doing something naughty while directing his attentions towards the ducks. Whatever is going on, he seems to have upset his companions.
 
The second extra is of the Prestonpans Station; the colours surprised me, particularly as I’ve seen some spectacular colours in pictures taken using filters that include the red end of the visible spectrum. The station is adjacent to the site of the battle of ’45 when the Highlanders put Johnny Cope to rout and where Colonel Gardiner died, a Pan's resident fighting for the English. It is of interest that Gardiner was nursed by the Scots in his own home which was used as a hospital treating casualties on both sides with equal compassion. Compare with seven months later when the English victors at Culloden hunted down and slaughtered anyone who may possibly have been a Jacobite sympathiser.
 
After passing the now defunct Yew Tree Café in Ormiston still bearing signs that it was open for business, I visited my favourite tree(s), the actual yew(s) themselves. Unsurprisingly, infrared didn’t work there though other Blippers might have been able to make something of it. On the way back home, I could see the developing sky and hunted for a suitable vantage point and found this field in the nick of time just outside Pathhead and then promptly got lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.