Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Two Birds

Gee San Remo is a busy place. Predominantly tourists - busloads. Schoolkids, older people etc. I really like the wharf at San Remo despite my probably irrational aversion to crowds. One of the big attractions at the wharf is the daily lunchtime feeding of the pelicans. I was lucky with my timing as I was able to catch a mob (or should that be flock?) of them that were hanging around, some sleeping, some grooming themselves, some just standing around being cool, while waiting for the midday feeding.
There were 20 - 30 of them in a group so I shot and shot. I couldn't get as close as I would have liked so I started using the tele end of the zoom.
The above photograph image, (I have just had an epiphany and realised that an image on the monitor is not strictly a photograph, and there is me on my comments to other people talking about photos, but I am sure they know what I mean) was taken with my 16-85 Nikon zoom (not kit lens) and I think that in this photo (ach, I dont care if you don't), which was cropped very severely in order to get this composition, the sharpening is still quite superb.
I choose this image over a number of others because it seems to me to be an unusual pelican picture. And I really like it. Its mostly about the feathers, of course.
:-))

Much better bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.