Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Old friends and new

Today was another trip to London Bridge, this time to see Mr Panteliadis, and what a lovely man he turned out to be.  Looks like I'll be going up a few times this winter.  This means that as well as blipping people crossing various Thames bridges (where even on dull days the light can be rather gorgeous), I shall take the opportunity to do some of the standard tourist things I never did when I lived here.

On the way out from Waterloo I took the tube and went down the escalator behind 2 heavily armed police officers.  I noticed they were watching each other's backs the whole time and hardly dared  break in on the professionalism, but couldn't resist asking them if they spent all day going round and round the underground system.  They grinned and said, "Yes, pretty well."  I know they're there partly to make us feel safer, but to be honest they make me feel less safe.  It's that reminder we might be caught up in an incident any moment, which I never otherwise think about..

On the way back to Waterloo I walked along the South Bank instead and suddenly, as I was passing the Bankside Gallery I noticed an exhibition by 2 members of the Royal Society of Watercolour Painters and Painter-Printmakers, one of whose name I knew.  Catherine Barnes was a good friend in a previous life and I wondered if it was the same, so went in.  And yes, there she was, with her husband, Paul.  It was so good to see them and catch up.  The work she was exhibiting was gorgeous.  There's an image of her in Extras.

Meanwhile, the main image was taken on the Millennium Bridge.  Hope you like it.

Have a great evening.  I shall do what commenting I can but am out tonight, so hearts will come much later or in the morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.