Winter Morning Light

I didn't even try to put Ozzie in the back of my car this morning. I just opened the back door and he climbed right in and rode in style in the back seat! I think he's just putting on airs....

We started out on one side of the lake in warm sunshine and finished in cool mist, but it was an interesting walk. A group of birders explained to me where the pileated woodpecker had built its nest . I explained to the group of birders that I never can see birds at any distance. 

I did however come upon a pair of hiking boots hanging over a branch high in a tree overhanging the path*. Pairs of sneakers hanging over the wires in more urban settings always occasioned much speculation as to their meaning.Some thought it was a secret signal for where drugs could be purchased.  I was always inclined to think it was one of those "I did it because I can" sorts of things...

As for the hiking boots...maybe a pileated woodpecker will fancy them for its nest....

We braved the grocery store this morning to buy the necessities for Thanksgiving dinner. The store was busy, but not as crazy as it will be tomorrow when it is not only Senior Citizens' discount day but the day before Thanksgiving. It's just not worth the battle for the 10% discount, even though the total this morning would have occasioned a good one.

The rest of the afternoon was spent cleaning the oven. We were at pains to get the "dual fuel" one so that it would have a self cleaning oven. In typical Italian style we're told in the instructions to "remove small animals and birds from the room and open a door for added ventilation". Necessary but impractical...I then spent an hour scrubbing the racks which we're told to remove before cleaning....worse than polishing the family silver which I gave up a long time ago....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.