Shall I do my hair?

I had an appointment this afternoon at another of the community based services, and again I decided to ride there and then directly home after finishing. I was conscious of today being the last day of my seventh successive 365 days. I had looked to see what have been my most common tags to gain inspiration for where to look for a photo to mark it. We are not at Snells Beach at the moment, and the sunrise this morning was hidden by clouds. 

However, heading home along Ponsonby Road I saw the perfect photo opportunity. I have taken many photos on Ponsonby Road, not an insignificant number of those have been of cafes, and I have also posted photos of readers. Indeed Barry featured outside the One 2 One Cafe almost exactly four years ago. When I saw him sitting there this afternoon, reading a newspaper this time rather than a book, I had to stop, park the bike carefully, and approach him.

I gave him my name and he nodded in some recognition, and then smiled more broadly when I said that I had taken his photo outside this cafe some years ago. And nodded. I asked if he would mind if I took his photo again, and he willingly consented, asking what I use the photos for. I told him I am an amateur photographer, and a bit about blipfoto. 

He then asked the question that gave me the perfect title, and went back to reading the newspaper, with a quiet little smile. He approved the photo when I showed it to him.

Reader:  Barry
Place : One 2 One Cafe, Ponsonby Road
Reading: New Zealand Herald
Refreshment: Coffee

I have in one sense surprised myself by continuing to do this for so long without missing a day. In another way, I'm not surprised at all; when I was still running competitively, I ran every day for almost two years once, showing that I am obsessive enough to pursue long streaks. At least photography doesn't depend on remaining injury free, as injuries have only rarely occurred while I've been taking photos.

Thank you to blipfoto, To all of you with whom I interact as followers of each others' journals, to the many other ordinary members like me who put our money where our interest lies, and especially to the leaders who started, led the campaign to have membership ownership, and now manage the site. I can see no reason to pause, let alone stop. That of course may change ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.