Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Bedside lamp Project. Turning the Stems

     I have now started to turn the stems of the bedside lamps which I am making. I could have blipped some shots of the stems in their virgin state, but thought it would be more interesting for you to see rather than pieces of wood stuck together!
     In the second extra are the two stems ready for mounting into the lathe as shown in the 1st extra having trimmed excess wood off them so I would not be spending a lot of time turning off the waste. 
     I have stuck on the ends of the 'virgin' stems pieces of wood purely to mount the stems into the lathe. I could not mount them without these as the hole up the centre of them gave me nowhere to secure them in between points of the lathe.
When I have turned them to the shape I have in mind I will cut them off (main shot) and then machine the ends of them to fit into the bases which are already made.

Have otherwise been gardening and tidying up and sweeping up leaves and taking them to the tip.

Hope you are all well. Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.