Put Out The Flags!

Somewhere over the Alps en route from Geneva to Barcelona, I turn the page of today's British Daily Telegraph newspaper to find a picture that stops me in my tracks and brings a tear to my eye: it features the new Calmac ferry launched yesterday in Port Glasgow to serve the Ardrossan-Brodick route and which has been christened 'Glen Sannox'.

The last MV Glen Sannox has a huge place in my heart and writings being the ship in service during the heyday of my family's annual Arran holidays. I can't read about that motor vessel's demise (renamed with an Arabic name, she ran aground in the Red Sea whilst ferrying Mecca-bound pilgrims to Saudi Arabia) without a huge wrench in my heart as I think of her happier days bringing my Dad ashore at Brodick pier to start his long holiday with us . . . see the link below for a corresponding story.

To think that I will soon be able to cross the Firth of Clyde to our treasured isle on her successor fills me with a joy so absolute that I can hardly contain it. Somewhere out there are people who occupy the Nirvana of naming rights.  Thank you!

Link . . .
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2300290540517720420

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.