Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

The beginning of a conversation

I am a twit, yes I am. But luckily thete are folk around me who don't seem to mind too much.

I was photographing this tree on the nature strip near the coffee mums cafe of the day. I was convinced that it was a West Australian Christmas Tree, which are famous parasite trees that flower at this time of year.
In the garden of the old house next to the tree was a lady pottering in her beautiful old garden. We chatted about the love of gardening and I mentioned the tree on the verge. I authoritatively told her what it was and she gently said that she had always thought that it was an entirely different species - a silk oak. We agreed to meet to confirm which it was.
I googled it at home and of course I was wrong. Do I dare go back and acknowledge my mistake? Will I appear even more of a fool? Probably on both counts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.