The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

The Lake House

Today for the first time I felt like jumping in and helping prepare my lake house for sale. I called Jane and we touched base. She had sent me a list of things that needed doing which I had completely ignored. With moving, New York and Paris, and just adjusting to my new life, I had not energy for the old house. Luckily Jane was organizing stuff and I was able to touch base, agree and then come up with the cash to make them happen. As a result the walls and ceilings are clean, free of holes, textured where needed and freshly painted. They look wonderful. And the rug cleaners who've done our rugs for a very long time did an amazing job of cleaning all the rugs. Jane organized a cleaner who made the kitchen sparkle and Jane cleaned the cabinets with Simple Green and Will, the painter, applied Teal Oil. The result is quite fantastic. You no longer are aware that they are 27 year old cabinets. Without Jane I'd be in way worse shape. She is doing work way beyond the job description of "realtor" and I am so appreciative of what she's doing.

So today I joined forces and began calling and arranging stuff. I met a fellow from Louis Auto Glass to identify the windows that have to be replaced. Turned out there were eight of them, and several screens too. I expected an arm and a leg as far as price was concerned and happily I was wrong and I get to keep all my appendages. ;-) 

I also arranged for a window cleaner and Raven will come and make the garden look good. Right now it is a large bed of leaves. 

So soon, in a few weeks the house will go on the market. And somebody will have a lovely home, just the one they've been looking for. And I will be able to pay off all the loans and have some extra $ to put in the bank. It is all good. And I am happy to be in a place where I am motivated to help make it happen. After all, it is my house.

Oh and I took a bunch of pictures today. Some may end up in the house listing though probably not this one since I juiced it up and the listing is about showing how it is, not how crazy abstract it can look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.