The Daily Record

By havohej

Capn Jazz Analphabetapolothology

Capn' Jazz 'Analphabetapolothology' (Jade Tree, 2010)

This is a double LP compilation of all material released by the hugely influential Capn' Jazz. The fact that there are at least four bands who have named themselves after their songs gives you an idea of the type of impact Capn' Jazz had on 'emo'. Furthering their resonance band members have gone on to form Promise Ring, American Football, Joan of Arc, Owls etc. and drummer, Mike Kinsella, is the mainman in the increasingly popular Owen.

Whilst I have great affection for some of those bands, Promise Ring in particular, I am not a fan of Capn' Jazz. I don't dislike them particularly, but their stoppy starty, almost, but not quite, melodies and the straining, screaming strangely impotent vocals do not chime with me. I've tried and tried, I bought this on CD when it first came out in 1998 and bought it again when offered a vinyl copy, but still it hasn't become a favourite.

My dad once warned me not to try and replace all the records and tapes I had with CDs which he was finding quite an expensive process in the late 80s early 90s. It seems I'm doing things in reverse. I wonder if he would rebuy releases he didn't particularly like? Seems pretty stupid when you think of it!

I have a mental block with bands like this and I feel inadequate in a way because some of my good friends adore this strain of emo. I've seen countless bands who sound like Capn' Jazz and although I've not had a terrible time I've always enjoyed the other groups on the bill who sound a bit more like Mineral or Sick of it All (the 90s and early 2000s had a lot of line ups like that!).

The photo on the cover of the excellent booklet which accompanies this handsome release sums up the early to mid 90s emo scene perfectly; I'm glad I was there or thereabouts, but Capn' Jazz haven't aged well in my opinion.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.