The second half of life..

By twigs

Swallows

Took a drive out to the Boulder Bank in the hope of spotting and shooting some birds.  Wouldn't you believe it.........almost immediately I hit the gravel I spied a kingfisher sitting on a large rock, fairly close to the road.  I pulled over and did manage to get closer, but kingfishers are pretty flighty birds, and he took off before I could ready myself for a shot.

The trip was most definitely not wasted however, as further along the drive I found a few swallows ducking and diving their way around.  As I watched I saw one stop on this chain then a few minutes later, another land and feed number one.  I watched patiently for a while and witnessed 2 or 3 other feeds whcih was pretty neat.  

If you look closely at this one you'll see the tail end of a large bug that baby is about to swallow whole!  I wonder if that's how they get their name?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.