chantler63

By chantler63

Model Tattoo

It was day 2 of the photography course at the National Portrait Gallery.  The day when the models were in and each of us had 25 minutes allocated time.  We worked in pairs with one assisting while the other was photographer.  We had already been asked to come with ideas for the shoot plus any props we might need and had 30 minutes prep time ahead of time with the model to set up backgrounds, lighting etc; also advised to draw our plans and note down camera details.  This would be a good discipline to take to any shoot with ideas prepared but also ready to adapt to eventualities to tell the story of our subject. When Lidia, our model, was changing I saw the tattoo on her shoulder and was able to include this into my shooting time.
I now have the raw images to use in Photoshop two of my portrait ideas but these require time to do carefully; I am confident that one will definitely work - it's a development from the Pep Ventosa technique I tried out last week; the other idea will be harder to effect as I want to impose one image onto part of another.  Watch this space!

The train journey home turned into a bit of an ordeal with a group of inebriated 20 somethings taking over the carriage, talking loudly (every other word was 'like') and trying to get everyone to eat the flapjack they had just bought!  Tiresome.  Then there was the lady behind me talking loudly on her phone for much of the journey, a chap behind her playing music loudly and a crying baby! I did sympathise with the baby though - I felt like crying too!

A great weekend though and more learning to assimilate and use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.