What happened?

I finished this book today. It had to be done, I didn't want to linger on any more. The writing was good, but somehow it was tough reading for me. Maybe too much of the thoughts of the main character? It went on and on and on. ..

The main character is Frances, wife to Andrew, who had taken on a job in Saudi Arabia, which lands her in a blistering hot country with it's own habits and culture.

It's a good read, an interesting read. It is very detailed, so much I feel the scorching sun and the stifling atmosphere of country and home. Very well written.

I couldn't relate to Frances though. If it were me, I would've packed my suitcase and left for home as soon as I could. Not stay in a country where everything is a hassle, where you (especially as a woman) can't move freely, where nothing is as it seems to be.

In the end the ongoing events made it better to continue reading, but I still don't know what happened. And glancing back at the note in the first page I can't help but wonder what happened after the book's ending.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.