RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

Frenchman's Bar

This spot on the Columbia River was named after Paul Haury, a cabin boy on a French sailing ship. Feeling ill-treated, he jumped ship and hid in a hollow log until crew members stopped searching. After working his way through British Columbia and Alaska, he bought this stretch of land west of Vancouver that is now called Frenchman's Bar Park. We briefly explored this park on a chilly day that saw rain, clouds, and sun. 

For the moment we have dropped anchor, so to speak, in Vancouver. This is our second move since selling our gorge home, Ravens Roost, in late August. The transition has been far more difficult than either of us expected. I miss my custom built home with its stunning views of Mts. Adams and Rainer, the wide prairie vistas and majestic gorge landscapes. On the plus side, we enjoy being close to family, friends, healthcare and all the amenities of an urban environment. 

Is it angst, ennui or weltschmerz that's got me down? Whichever, I am finding it a challenge to get my groove on, and move joyfully into my new life.  I know from previous life transitions that I will create a new and fulfilling life...it just takes time.
l

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.