a town called E.

By Eej

Magic Wings



I spend an hour and a half under the feeders disguised as a massive but inedible red flower. My straggler hummie fell for it at first, based on the very strong buzzing sound in my left ear which is still resonating, but soon wised up. The light was difficult, with the sun directly in my face - but I quite liked this silhouette anyway. Like I said earlier this week; any hummie I can get this late in the season is a present :)

I did check the Michigan Audubon Society - it's not unusual to see hummingbirds this late in the season as they've been sighted as late as the end of October. And they base their departure on the amount of daylight and not people like me that keep feeding them. *wipes brow*

When I wasn't aiming the camera at falling leaves or big wasps that I mistook for incoming hummers I was playing fetch with the Jays. At one point one of them was screaming at me which I thought was hysterical. Impatient things! And clever enough to sit in the garage gutter and even on the roof of the house to keep a close eye on me. It's going to be a fun winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.