*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Feeling blessed

This is a terrible kingfisher photo but I'm just thankful (and amazed!) it came out at all. It was taken first thing this morning, before it was properly light, handheld, from the other side of the river, and with branches and leaves in the way... apart from that, the conditions were perfect! ;-)

It was a lovely morning so I walked along the canal and river to Saltaire for my counselling appointment. Saw 3 kingfishers (the one I managed to photograph had just caught a fish and was eating it, but it's hard to see as there's a leaf in the way!), a heron,  goosanders and a couple of cormorants (or it may be the same one that I saw twice - I've never seen cormorants on that stretch of the river before).

My appointment went well again. I like the lady I'm seeing very much. The sessions are meant to be half an hour but we were talking and working through things for 50 minutes today... I'm not complaining, it does me good to talk and there was no one waiting. It's quite nice how she doesn't keep checking the time - I find it a little distracting when people do that. 

Got a takeaway cappuccino afterwards and sat by the river for a while and then decided to walk home to see if any of the birds were still about. Didn't see anything, possibly because there were more people about. An old guy (who was trailing way behind at the back of a walking group) saw my big camera and asked me if I'd seen anything - he was chuffed to hear there were kingfishers about. I hate small talk but I like giving bird reports to nice polite old blokes :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.