Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Not my best photo of the day but ...

It felt right that the blackbird should be the star of the day as he and six of his mates stripped the Rowan tree of berries in the morning while I was at the dentist.  (Ann counted them, the most I've seen were two, but then most of the berries had already gone by the time I came home.). For the last few years we have had Mistle (or missile) thrushes take over the tree, preventing any other birds getting anywhere near the berries.  Last year we only had one thrush and this year there were none.  I have to say that the berries lasted longer when they were in charge.  Missile thrush is a far more accurate description,  If you saw them in action you'd see why.  Pointy beaks to the fore as they launched themselves from our neighbours roof where they kept watch.  I rather miss them.

p.s. we have a rather cheeky grey squirrel who has found its way into the front garden at the moment, with a rather wonderful bushy tail - see todays extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.