The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Shapes

A view down the Kent estuary from Arnside Pier on a fine, cold day. In the morning we had the sharpest frost of this end of the year so far, and the road and pavement were skatey in places. And although the sun shone for much of the day, it stayed cool. Winter has definitely arrived.

I like the shapes the mudflats make with the channels in between, the estuary is ever changing. The mud gathers and thickens and then the estuary takes it away again. Seen in certain lights, it is the scattered gulls, waders and ducks that anchor it to Earthly reality. That and the surrounding woodlands and Hampsfell with the Hospice, where Gus and I were last Friday.

Gus and I had two walks over the Knott, a visit to the pier and a walk along the shore at Silverdale. Maybe that's why I feel so tired today, perhaps I've been pushing too hard and need to be more patient with my returning fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.