See it come down...

The Christmas lights , markets and entertainment in Edinburgh started on Saturday.

This 90 metre high structure ( called the Gold Mine Drop Tower apparently) dominates the section of George St where I once worked for the Kirk in their HQ at 121. In fact it sits just outside what was my office window.

That was , however , 40 years ago when displays like this in the dour, austere , Georgian New Town were unknown and unthought of.

I managed to get a shot of the “drop” of the seat part ( legs dangling , voices screaming and lights ghosting because of the speed) as I walked past on my way back to the flat from the Interpol Environmental Crime Task Force Conference whose dinner I had been addressing at the Sheraton.

What contrasts ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.