An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Lake Eppalock

We went to Bendigo today and on the way I noticed that Lake Eppalock is completely full - it was empty (or as good as) during the drought and only starting filling again in 2010. So on the way home, I stopped for a 2 minute photo break on the main road. Lake Eppalock is on the Campaspe River, and was man made in the early 1960s.

I'd love to stop properly one day (especially at sunset) as it would be a great photography spot. But I had to make do with what I could see from the road.

We went down the Central Deborah Gold Mine in Bendigo, which was actually quite good and the children all enjoyed it (adults too). Tried a spot of panning for gold, but to no avail. Probably have more chance of finding gold in my own garden (which is actually not as unlikely as you might think - I live in a gold mining area and I have a nice seam of quartz in a secret location in the garden...) (which has kept many a child with trowel in hand entertained for hours, I can tell you! )

This loaded first try tonight! I did reduce the file size (to 50%, so still a reasonable size).

BIG watery reflections

Also saw some really odd bugs - like huge caterpillars but not like any I have ever seen! They were black and spikey and looked a little like cybermats... HERE is a photo of them. I'd love to know what they are - there was an army of them, they were about 5 to 6 cm long (at least!) and a bit aggressive -they all flipped their tails in the air when I got too close with the camera! Notice their feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.