Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Peanut Gazing

This female squirrel (my second favorite yard pet) has finally learned that I am the provider of the corn, sunflower seeds, and peanuts. 

When I went out for today's blip, she was not happy that the feeder and log were totally free of food (forgot to put food out this morning).  So I carried a peanut to her and pretended to throw it.  I was able to photograph her just as she gazed up to look for the peanut. 

When she didn't hear it land, she looked back at me, saw that I still had it, and came right up and took it from my hand!  This was a first for her!  I think she has been watching her brother (my favorite yard pet) do this over the past couple of weeks and finally got the nerve to do this herself... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.