Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Look Up

Glasgow was bathed in glorious sunlight this morning as I headed to catch my train to London.

I managed to take this photo of the former Northern Insurance Company Offices (1908) on St. Vincent Street. We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful buildings in Glasgow.

This A listed building looked stunning in the autumnal light. I love the delicate cloud against the dazzling blue sky.

This was the architect John Archibald Campbell's last building - he died during its construction. The Imperial Union Club at 94 St Vincent Street was part of the project.

The building is constructed of a steel framework, the floors being of reinforced concrete. The facade to St Vincent Street is built of Portland stone, the first to be used in Glasgow.

This is my first Blip at 125 mph on the high speed Virgin Pendolino Train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.