Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Rock

The memorial rock.   I have made a tile for friends that have enjoyed many visits here at the island over the last 27 years and have died.   Today I put up 2 new ones. ( the friend/ book club hubby we have traveled to Africa and South America with and my 96 year old next door neighbor who used to visit on their boat.)    There are lots of good memories here and it’s a bit of a sheltered flat rock on the beach (extra)  not too visible from the water, but nice to see up close.    

We started this 20 years ago (when we were a lot younger!) and now a very bizarre thing is happening…some friends that come here are ASKING if they “get to be” on my rock!   It never occurred to me it would be something desirable!   OH dear.     I usually respond by saying aren’t they forgetting how old I am compared to them… I have one friend who told me if I was feeling deathly ill would I please make her tile first.  :-)     Well, one does have  to keep a sense of humor…

Going OUT to dinner at the Tall House tonight… a treat for me!…. we’ll see if we can get the cook to play a piece or 2 on her cello.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.