POHUTUKAWA

A very mixed day. We had a leadership team building session first thing. I accept that I am a committed clinician before being a manager. Which is why I was offered this job. These sessions are useful, I guess. Proof of the pudding is in the eating, and all that. 

I then spent an unproductive hour or so, emptying my email inbox of large messages so that IT will let me get the new ones. I know; I know that I shouldn't. But I keep emails just in case. Wasteful of memory, they tell me. Other places to store what does need to be kept. This is when I really need a PA type.

After a bite to eat, and finishing this morning's (yesterday's) Guardian cryptic, I went to see the recently admitted patient in the Mother Baby Unit. I needed to review her Mental Health Act status. Managed to get her to trust me anough to talk to me and we got a long way towards establishing a treatment partnership. Sadly, this is my last day in that service, as the usual clinician returns from a six month sabbatical next week.

Paperwork followed, and I have a major document to read and digest and decide on what to do. And I don't have much time in which to do it.Some weekend reading, I guess.

Got home feeling a little weary, and looking for inspiration saw the little pohutukawa in its tub with its first flowers. Managed to get the exposure right. Couldn't manage to include the blue LED light perched in its branches. Later, after we'd finished our meal on the deck, I took the photo of the sunset which is today's extra.

Stimulated by being reminded by S of what she did for her book club a couple or so years ago I wrote the following:

PO   sitioned in a corner on the deck
HU   gging a little blue light
TU   rning flowers towards the sun
KA   rakia* welcoming the future
WA   rmth comes as summer nears

* incantations or prayers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.