Greenhouse Bird - Greenfly

"Give birds a hand to survive winter" was the Nature Notes headline in the paper today. We had a few flakes of snow here in Essex and I got frozen on my walk. As I passed the southerly block of disused glasshouses I heard the calls of a troupe of long-tailed-tits inside. I peered through a gap where a couple of panes of glass were missing. It was a bit like being in a hide in reverse. The birds weren't aware of me. My chiffchaff and goldcrest were inside too. It pleased me to think that our glasshouses are giving the birds a hand to survive the winter. :) I photographed the above LTT just outside. If you look closely you will be able to see the aphids it was feeding on.

Today's poem is From Astrophil and Stella XXXI by Sir Philip Sidney  https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/45158/astrophil-and-stella-31-with-how-sad-steps-o-moon-thou-climbst-the-skies

It is thought that this is based on Sidney's own unrequited love for Lady Penelope Devereux. He is Astrophil and she is Stella. He's talking to the moon about his frustrations. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.