The Mothership @OU_SiSE #prisoned

At Walton Hall for an event with the Students in Secure Environments team. Prisons from around the country were represented so I was able to say "hello" to some old friends which was smashing. 

The final speaker talked about entering jail nine years ago as an angry young man. He was released three weeks with an Open University degree which he completed earlier this year. He eloquently described the changes he'd experienced as he studied, changes in his views, his morals and his ethics. Perhaps the most powerful part was when he described his degree certificate. It shows his name, that his degree is in Politics, Philosophy and Economics and that he has an upper second class degree. What he doesn't show, he said, are the names of all the people who had a stake in that degree; the people who supported him and believed in him and helped him. I'm glad I did my bit before him because I had something in my eye then and he totally did the room - there was no way of following that without a full orchestra and the Red Arrows.

Those who use the Twitter might be interested in checking out #prisoned which is the tag we used today. I tweeted as did the SiSE team using the account name in the subject line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.