Rain rewards

... hungry birds with a wealth of worms.

What a miserable, wet day it's been. Nothing to blip till, just now, I spotted two magpies on the top of a tall tree. They flew off over the roof of our house, so I hurried to the back and found no fewer than three magpies on the field. They'd joined our resident gull. He'd been stomping and chomping all day and now had three other beaks to share his worms.

This picture is the best of a bad bunch, taken on full zoom through a dripping wet window. As soon as I opened it, though slowly and quietly, off they flew:

1 for sorrow,
2 for joy,
3 for a letter ...!

Hope it contains some cheery news.
Or a cheque would do!
Or a ticket to somewhere warm and sunny!

Found one thing interesting about this picture: If I'd been asked to sketch a gull alongside a magpie, and in proportion, I'd have been way out. I thought they were much nearer in size. You learn a lot from photography, don't you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.