Street poetry

Anyone expecting festive blips from me is surely going to be disappointed!
Out and about in town this lunch time avoiding anything christmas related chanced across this wall mural adorning a BT exchange building in Rose Street. Each mural depicts a verse from The Beachcomer by John MacKay Brown. This mural is the Friday verse (slick blipping huh?)

This mural was designed by Astrid Jaekel in2013.
Here is the poem in full 
Monday I found a boot –
Rust and salt leather.
I gave it back to the sea, to dance in.

Tuesday a spar of timber worth thirty bob.
Next winter
It will be a chair, a coffin, a bed.

Wednesday a half can of Swedish spirits.
I tilted my head.
The shore was cold with mermaids and angels.

Thursday I got nothing, seaweed,
A whale bone,
Wet feet and a loud cough.

Friday I held a seaman’s skull,
Sand spilling from it
The way time is told on kirkyard stones.

Saturday a barrel of sodden oranges.
A Spanish ship
Was wrecked last month at The Kame.

Sunday, for fear of the elders,
I sit on my bum.
What’s heaven? A sea chest with a thousand gold coins.

George Mackay Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.