TGIF

I got home last night, after the concert which was followed by dinner at Bizim Tepe,  to find someone had left a note, in Turkish, by my front door to say there is a very sick kitten on the plateau. It seems I am now considered to be the crazy cat lady of campus!  Anyway, at lunchtime today I had the time to go look, and indeed, found a juvenile, some 10-12 weeks old in a very sorry state. Filthy, and constantly crying, he has succumbed to every parasite you can think of and a few more, and clearly has 'issues'.  Picked up him easily and he immediately snuggled into my folded arm.  Popped him in to one of my cat boxes and back to the music office where warm and dry he stopped crying and clearly felt safe enough to curl up and sleep through afternoon class. Once school was over, Deniz - fellow music teacher colleague , and most importantly, friend - drove me (cos I don't have a car) to my local vet who will work his magic for the next 7-10 days. We've both been here before many times with campus cats, over the years, so I am quite optimistic. 

Early evening and I walked down to Alex's 'fish night' and potluck gathering on Konak terrace - so beautiful with the Bosphorus backdrop but no camera capable to do it justice in the dark.  A small log fire to warm the bones, delicious food and a couple of beers, in the company of a dozen neighbour colleague friends, finally had me slowing down at the end of this very busy week. Walking home almost had me at dead stop as it is marginally up hill all the way.

What a week. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.