Beewriter

By Beewriter

Thrills & Quills

I went into town, along with hundreds and thousands of people....oh my, I have never seen so many people in Manchester. It was absolutely heaving. I needed a pair of shoes for my work Christmas Do next week. I've said I will do overtime on Tuesday if they need me and that meant that today was the only day I could go shopping. 

I don't like buying shoes as I struggle with heels, especially with my dodgy knee. I wandered in and out of shops feeling slightly desperate as time went by. I saw some fabulous ones, but nothing I would be able to walk in. It was time for a break....

I met up with Jude at Central Library as Lipstick Service Theatre were performing Thrills and Quills....'Britain's favourite literary lunatics'....and I had tickets. Maggie Fox and Sue Ryding are brilliant, I love their shows. Maggie greeted us at the door and we had a chat with her then bagged front row seats. I think she was wearing a collar under her scarf and she only introduced, her daughter Phoebe took her place as the postman alongside Maggie who was Jane Austen. It was utterly bonkers and hilariously funny. They were happy to pose for a quick pic at the end. 

I then dragged Jude along as I continued my quest for shoes. I did find a pair eventually and I hope I shall be able to walk in them!

We decided to stay in town and went to the Restaurant Bar & Grill for drinks and food. There were a lot of 'dressed to kill' people in there and we were decidedly underdressed....or overdressed...depending how you look at it, but we didn't care after a large glass of wine! It was then a very packed bus ride home, but a hilarious ride as people were on top form laughing and chatting together. 

An early night now as I'm off and out early tomorrow.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.