Now we have everything

By Gembop

PUPPPS

I finally spoke to the doctor this morning about my infuriating itchiness- it's driving me insane.
He's diagnosed Pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP) or polymorphic eruption of pregnancy (PEP).

Surprisingly, the fun wasn't the usual 8:30am fight for an appointment or getting them to take the problem seriously (he prescribed 2 types of oral antihistamines and an ointment cream). The fun was trying to track down a pharmacy who actually had the ointment in stock- the third suggested I come back tomorrow when they work out what it is (!)

In the meantime I've ordered every remedy suggested by Google/forums, including Pine Tar Soap, Dandelion root pills and Nettle leaf tea. We also bought some e45 itch cream and bath emollient from Superdrug on the way home. I'm so desperate I'll try anything. The bath made me feel worse, as did the e45. I ended up covered in calamine lotion again.

My friend Abby had a similar, but worse condition in her first pregnancy. Hers carried the risk of still birth (luckily Jack was fine) whereas I can at least be assured that no matter how crappy it is for me, Bump is fine/wouldn't have a clue!

The antihistamines are supposed to take the edge off the itching, rather than fix the problem. If it persists, it's steroid cream next which is a little worrying.

Anyhoo, I thought rather than post a picture of my rash, I thought I'd blip some pretty flowers instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.