Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Advent Calendar

I did manage to sleep a bit last night, in between hot then cold sweats. Maybe the two whiskies last night did help...

I didn’t feel sprightly enough to actually get up - I like Sunday morning TV (on my iPad) while JR tended to the two dogs, taking them a long walk down to the Meadows, then washing eight feet, feeding them, then bringing me a huge fresh fruit salad with some of Rufus' (human) yoghurt, as we'd run out.

JR then went off into town for a lunch date. I took the dogs round the block. I was wrapped up well, but I was still glad to get back home. It was quite tiring. I had to walk along like those Egyptian hieroglyphs - facing sideways with one arm out in front (Archie) and one arm behind (Rufus). We all lay down and snoozed for a while when we came home.

But not until we'd open up Day Three of Archie's advent calendar (which Elizabeth gave to him). Rufus didn’t seem to know what a doggie advent calendar was, so he wasn’t interested.

The calendar then has to be put away in a cupboard, because it can’t be in the same room as Archie - it drives him crazy - all those unopened days.

Right. A couple of whiskies tonight again, methinks...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.