Butterscotch

Going through boxes of old stuff, little by little... My son got some things down from the very high shelf, things I haven't been able to reach in awhile.This carton held a few toys I had as a kid--that goes back some, as you might imagine. I was fond of this dog once, although not nearly on the same level as my teddy bear. His name is Butterscotch and he has a real dog collar. The truth is that his eternally astonished face was always a little sinister. I'm ready to part with him, but can't bring myself to put him in the garbage can, even though he means very little to me. There's no way he could ever be endearing to anyone ever again, poor strange mended thing, so what is this reluctance? I fear he will sit on the table, staring at me, for a good long time, and then one day he will simply vanish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.