Desk job

When I went to collect some papers for the trip I'm departing on this afternoon, I absorbed the memories and quirks of Tony's desk because it's likely to have been cleared by the time I get back.

I wonder if this desk is unique globally in the combination of delights it offers: a bag of strong Indonesian coffee and a printout of a bizarre cave-dwelling specimen.

I remember the shenanigans when Tony wanted to erect the big poster of the cave beetle when our small Asia-Pacific team occupied a room in our former building. I can't remember whether it ever made it onto the wall or simply remained propped up as it does now against his desk; a nod to the weird and wonderful.

I hotfooted it to Heathrow for a flight to Addis Ababa, where I'll change for Juba. During the safety briefing there was emphasis on the inflatable slides used in emergency landings, 'as the flight is mostly above water...'.

I am hoping the pilot has a better grasp of geography than the cabin crew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.