Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Ready for recycling

Old cement-like iMac with busted CD drive; ancient iPod with munched screen; iPhone 4s; iPhone 5s with cracked screen and back.

All wiped - the iMac via the second-most-secure method: wipes the drive then overwrites each sector three times with a string of zeroes or something. There is one higher level of security, which does it seven times; that satisfies US Department of Defense requirements. I figured that was overkill, and the next one down, satisfying the US Department of Energy requirements, would be five. I'm glad I did, considering that that one took about half a day on this old beast.

Had the CD drive worked I was going to install an older OS (it would thereby be less capable, but what it did, it would do more swiftly) and offer it for free - but with the busted drive I couldn't. So Apple can recycle it along with the phones and iPod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.