At Poynton Ceilidh

On Saturday the band played at Poynton Ceilidh in Greater Manchester. The blip is of the band on stage, I play at the back next to the bass saxophonist.

The journey there was awful and made worse by the fact that I have to travel alone as no-one lives near me. It was dark when I set off and it rained most of the way and the traffic was really heavy. It was compounded by the fact that I don't know the area at all and am used to country driving not multiple lanes and choices. The sat nav got me there but I found it a very stressful journey! 

The ceilidh was brilliant, it's a very successful monthly ceilidh and we were told that 90 people were there. It was great to see so many people dancing and enjoying themselves. 

At half time there was a display of Irish step dancers. They were all well into retirement age but were amazingly fit. One dance lasted 7 minutes and they were continually stepping, spinning and swirling at breakneck speed. We were very impressed!

The journey back was worse than getting there even though the roads were quieter in the early hours. There were roadworks everywhere and lanes were coned off which the sat nav didn't recognise and kept trying to send me that way. Wherever I went it led me back to these closed off roads. Eventually I just chose a road randomly and eventually saw a diversion sign to the M56 which I followed. A few more signs would have helped a very harrassed driver!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.