The second half of life..

By twigs

Heffalump bird

It was a rough night last night. One of the down-sides to picking camp sites close to the sea became apparent over night. When the weather is calm, the sound of the sea gently lapping at the beach is incredibly therapeutic and relaxing to go to sleep to. But when the sea is being whipped into a frenzy by ferocious gusting winds the gentle lapping turns into incessant, thunderous pounding; there were times last night I felt as though I was in a boat not a campervan!

It was also cold so getting up was once again a tough chore. (I listened to a podcast today which was talking about the healthy benefits of plenty of sleep. When asked when she got up the presenters response was "When I've finished sleeping". That approach has a great deal of appeal for me!)

Anyway, I eventually set off (after a short mosey through Greymouth) to head over Arthur's Pass. The weather grew greyer (I wonder where Greymouth might have got it's name from?!) and colder. The van handled the steepness of the Otira Gorge very well though the Kea population at the top seemed to be getting the better of it. They're such adorable lumps of birds but are, nevertheless, incredibly destructive where plastic or rubber is concerned. It occured to me that 'Heffalump' would be an appropriate name for them for some reason.

Had an afternoon cuppa in Arthur's Pass and watched the snow begin to fall . . . . . . and boy, was it cold?!

Decided not to stay in the township but to find a spot a little further on so here I am at klondyke Corner - scene of one of the transitions for the Coast to Coast. It's all pretty calm and serene now though - and c-o-l-d too - very cold!

I wonder where I'll be tomorrow night???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.