Seven swans a-swimming

This morning I went with M to do the U3A bird walk. It was a really beautiful morning, although a bit slippy underfoot with all the rain we've had. There was a very peaceful scene on the river and I noticed the group of swans numbered seven which was seasonally appropriate for a blip. 

Just before we got to the river I spotted a tiny bird in a tree, but it had gone before I could ask M what it was. So I looked out for it on the way back and M identified it as a Goldcrest. It happily nipped around the branches, even the low branches close to us. Unfortunately it was too fast, too small and at times too close for me to focus properly and get a decent photo. I've added my best blurry photo as an extra anyway as I was sooooo pleased to have had such a good view of Britain's smallest bird, the first time I've seen one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.