Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

White fronted tern calling

So I'm standing on a jetty taking photos of the terns, and there's a sudden shaking, and I realise that an earthquake is happening, and my first thought is - well if I get shaken into the water at least I can swim!

Not much chance to drop cover hold like we are supposed to do, and to be honest there wasn't time, although if it had continued I'd have dropped, but covering and holding weren't really options. And I was standing near the edge so if the jolt had been any stronger I'd have been in the water. We're so used to them it didn't really bother me.

Luckily it was only a 4.2, so no damage or anything. We've now had 12, 366 quakes in just over two years. I wonder if that's some kind of record?

Didn't seem to bother the terns much, but the other birds weren't overly keen on it, they all took off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.