Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Thinking about Thinking

I spent a very interesting day at the Systems Thinking Summit in Cardiff today with some terrific speakers. Thanks to Emma Langman and Louise Ebrey for bringing the Great Insiders Tribe together and the speakers, it was a great day!

What's Systems Thinking I hear you ask? Good question! It's about how things interact with each other, for example think about your organisation and you're probably working in a hierarchal structure but in reality communication etc doesn't go up or down, it interacts with each other. So it's the study of that interaction to understand how it works.

Hope that makes sense! It's probably a simplistic answer and not one for the purists but hey this is my journal, so there! Lol!

The two speakers I enjoyed the most were Dave Snowden, one of the leading thinkers on Complexity Theory, and Graeme Shaw from Transport for London. Dave was very thought provoking and funny, and his message very much resonated with me. So much so, that I think I'll be signing up for my Masters degree in Complexity today. Lol! Graeme was a different type of speaker, as he was a leader of a change programme in a culture where change was not very welcome. But he overcame the obstacles, and there were many, that were put in front of him to help deliver real and tangible change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.