Doocot-Spotting

We agreed that most of us had not set foot in this Toby Inn since the helpers of our erstwhile church charity shop met for a farewell lunch nearly six years ago; on that occasion I blipped the Balm Well.

Before we went in for our regular meetup of said church members I took a wander round the grounds and thought I had spotted an old doocot. I do like a nice doocot so set off to investigate. Braving the heap of rickety pallets and overgrown piles of bricks I approached what was obviously the entrance, setting off a clattering of wings as twenty-odd pigeons took flight, leaving their offspring cheaping plaintively and a drift of feathers floating down in the gloom. I shall not begin to describe the mountain of guano within, suffice to say that, despite its fast-approaching dilapidation, this building is positively identified as an active doocot.

I did visit the Balm Well again, it remains unchanged and appears well-cared-for. It would be nice to see inside sometime, I do like a nice well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.