The same, but different

The ways of taxonomists are known only to themselves, but generally it's flower structure that links plants together. For example, most genera in the rose family have five-petalled flowers which look similar and therefore most natural Rosa species have the same. Or that was the case when I last looked! Some don't, but I'm not sure why that is! Rosa sericea has four. I'm confused. Prepare to be even more confused!

What I was coming to is that the two plants in my Blip today are supposedly very closely related. On the left is Kalanchoe luciae and on the right Kalanchoe tubiflorum. I grew the latter when I was younger and knew it as Bryophyllum tubiflorum, though it was sometimes called Bryophyllum tubiforme. Or Bryophyllum delogense. Or Kalanchoe delagoense. The one on the left, which is sometimes called Kalanchoe albiflora, has been in the trade for years under the name Kalanchoe thyrsiflora, but that's another plant altogether, apparently.  

Anyway these are generally both called Kalanchoe, though you'd never guess to look at them that they are sisters under their waxy skins. Is it any wonder that garden centres sell them simply as 'succulents'! 

Taxonomists seem to know how to keep their jobs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.