Early morning happenings and afternoon meetings

13C with blue skies, thin cloud, and a very light breeze.

When Maeve the Deerhound and I went out for her early morning walk we noticed there was a rig being towed towards Dundee by a small fleet of tugs. I had peeped out through the curtains before we went out and had noticed the sunrise was looking good, so I had put a camera in my pocket. I took Maeve into the field across the road at the side of our house and we walked down to where the rows of straw and bales are lying, then I took some shots of the sunrise and the rig. I have picked one that has enough light to show all the elements in the scene for today's blip. The tugs are Highland Valour, Silex, Elbe, Dalmeny, and Corringham :-)

Through the morning bales have been collected from the field and taken away on a trailer. There is still straw lying in the field but the baling machine wasn't there in the morning. When Maeve I went for our walk after lunch we went up past the church and as we approached the field with the bridle path there was a red tractor and a baling machine arriving from the direction of Craigmill Farm and turning into the field. We followed it in and wandered along through the stubble as the farmer made his way down past the rows of bales to start gathering the last of the straw in his field. It is good to see the bales being made before the weather breaks.

Down the field, along the cycle path, through the little field with the sheep, and over the level crossing towards the beach. Just as we got through the far level crossing gate I could hear the whine of the rails as a train came speeding along the line. 1.39pm. The train had definitely not given an audible warning !

Deep dry loose sand and seaweed to plod through again today. Tide far out. I could see 'Valhalla VI' far out to sea and its dingy moored at the furthest out post in the boat channel. One man at the Fishermen's huts securing a tarpaulin over his boat. All of the boats are covered now with tightly lashed tarpaulins. Maeve and I had a look around as it was so sunny and I took some pictures. I have put a few on the overflow blog with a couple of the Craigmill Farm red tractor making bales.

Later, as we were approaching home, we met our neighbour from the house behind ours walking along. Then, just as we were about to make our last turn to walk down to our house, we had a very pleasant surprise in meeting fellow Carnoustie blipper AudreyJ and her family for the first time. They had spotted Maeve as they walked along. I imagine Maeve is quite easy to spot. I often forget her size as she toddles along beside or behind me and I don't think of her as being big until someone reminds me. Introductions were made, Maeve got lots of attention, and we had a short chat before we continued on our way home :-)

Update: Even later I heard tractors and had a look over into the field from upstairs. Lots of activity with big rectangular bales being made by one machine and collected by another, and a tractor beginning to break up the soil surface. Ploughing soon I suspect. Maeve and I took a wander up to the corner and got some shots which are on the overflow blog (link above).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.