Harry's journal

By Lunis

One of my tools

When there was nothing else to shoot today, I decided to post something about the gear I use. It was also a great opportunity to try out some product photography. (I really don’t have any insight to this domain of photograhpy).
 
Here is my go to camera that I carry with me everywhere – the first generation Canon Powershot G7X.
 
We got a rough start almost two years ago. After I had had it for less than two weeks I found a huge dust spot inside the lens. It did not show in the image, but it was a turn off, as I tend to take good care of my stuff.
 
Off it went back to Canon and I got I cleaned and sent back. Unfortunately (for Canon) they did not communicate, compensate or recognize this misfortune in any way. As I read through some forums it appeared that this dust issue is something very common with this types of zoom lens compact cameras and Canon powershots where particularly known for this issue. Lesson learned from this is that a powershot is not a pocketable camera. I got my self a camera bag and have kept it there ever since.
 
Despite of the bad start there is lot to love about this gadget. In short, it is very capable and it is a joy to use. I am most days more than satisfied with the results I can get – particularly now when I know how to use it. The second lesson I have learned with the camera is to always use face detection auto focus. Point focusing will too often lead to back focusing. Thirdly, I have also learned to over expose rather than under expose. Shadows tend to become muddy if they are recovered in post.
 
   
Knowing what I know now, I would not recommend or buy this camera. Mostly because of the fact that there are better options available, within the price range. I currently look at two available options for my next investment. Micro four thirds systems are an appealing option, but so are the few aps-c sensor compact cameras that are out there. But for the near future I am happy with what I got, despite of the bad start.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.