Mr John

By MrJohn

Heron .....

..... by the lake.

This morning I was given a list of DIY chores that my mum wants me to do whilst I'm down visiting. There are various light fittings that are broken and need repairing or replacing and a wobbly tap in the bathroom. We had a trip out to the nearest DIY shop and bought all the bits and pieces needed and on the way home took the scenic route and stopped off as Alexandra Palace park.

I've not been to Ally Pally for years and really should go more often. Being so high up there are stunning views of the ever changing City skyline and today you could see for miles all around. The park is a beautiful place to visit on a sunny day like today and we had a lovely walk around the lake feeding the ducks, geese, moorhens and this very tame heron ( I only have a 50mm lense with no zoom, so I really was this close ). One unfortunate side effect of all the feeding has been the arrival of giant killer swans on the lake ;-). I also took a lot of snaps of some very cheeky squirrels busy burying acorns.

After the walk around Alexandra Palace I took my mum out for a lunch time Chinese meal and have spent the afternoon ticking off the DIY ( a misnoma in this case ) list that she had given me. Tomorrow I will most likely have another day out in London looking at arty things, but as it's something you wouldn't expect me to take photo's of whilst visiting London, today's blip is a .....


..... Heron by the lake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.